NSIC Altering Basketball And Volleyball Postseason Tournaments For 2012-13

The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference announced today that all 16 teams will advance to conference tournament in 2012-13 with the league expanding from 14 to 16 teams that school year.

Minot State and the University of Sioux Falls are the two teams being added to the league in 2012-13. The NSIC is also splitting the leauge into two eight-team divisions that school year.

“I think it’s a little unusual,” NSIC commissioner Butch Raymond said. “I don’t think it’s a bad thing. … If it doesn’t work we can always change it after a couple of years.”

The NSIC currently has 8 of its 14 teams make the conference tournament in both men’s and women’s basketball.

The league also announced it will again have a league volleyball tournament that has eight teams. The NSIC hasn’t had a conference volleyball tournament since 2007.