Dragons Picked No. 13 In NSIC Preseason Football Poll

Minnesota State Moorhead is picked No. 13 in the NSIC preseason coaches poll. The Dragons are coming off back-to-back 2-9 seasons. Dragons interim head coach Joel Beard, however, feels his team is ready to make an improvement this season.

“Guys have the right attitude that we are looking for and that’s the winning attitude,” Beard said. “What’s happened in the past is in the past, we’re looking at 2010. There’s a lot of competition within our team right now and that’s good.”

Below is the NSIC release for the preseason football poll:

St. Paul, Minn. – The defending NSIC champions of the University of Minnesota Duluth were selected by the league coaches as the overall and north division preseason favorite in the NSIC in 2010. The Bulldogs were the unanimous choice of the coaches as they received 13 first place votes (coaches cannot vote for their own team). Minnesota State University, Mankato received the other top first place vote in the overall voting and were the unanimous pick in the south division. St. Cloud State and Augustana tied for third place in the poll while Bemidji State rounded out the top five.

The Bulldogs will boast the NSIC North Division Offensive Preseason Player of the Year in running back Isaac Odim and North Division Defensive Preseason Player of the Year in linebacker Robbie Aurich. Southwest Minnesota State’s quarterback Ryan Ratekin was chosen as the South Division Offensive Preseason Player of the Year while Winona State’s defensive lineman Matt Ulrich was picked as the South Division Defensive Preseason Player of the Year.

As in the 2008 and 2009 seasons, the NSIC football schedule will be broken into two seven-team divisions (north/south) in 2010. Each team will play ten conference games that will count towards the NSIC Overall Champion as well as six divisional games that will count towards the NSIC North/South Championships. In all, three league championships will be awarded (Overall Champion, North Division Champion, South Division Champion). Ties will not be broken for overall or division champions.

Overall Coaches Poll


1. Minnesota Duluth (13)


2. Minnesota State (1)


3. Augustana


3. St. Cloud State


5. Bemidji State


6. Wayne State


7. Winona State


8. University of Mary


9. Southwest Minnesota State


10. Concordia-St. Paul


11. Northern State


12. Upper Iowa


13. MSU Moorhead


14. Minnesota, Crookston


first place votes in ( )